



1405 Kurth Drive, Lufkin, Texas 75904 (936) 634-2247 Fax: (936) 639-2700

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release May 10, 2024

DETCOG Expands Emergency Housing Assistance in 12 East Texas Counties

The Deep East Texas Council of Governments (DETCOG) is extending its assistance program to families displaced from their homes by recent flooding in East Texas.

"Governor Abbott has added additional counties to the disaster declaration for flooding, and as a result all the counties served by our Housing program are now included in the disaster area," noted Lonnie Hunt, Executive Director of DETCOG. "Our commitment remains unwavering to extend timely aid to the displaced families who qualify to be served by our Housing Choice Voucher Program."

The DETCOG Housing program serves almost 1,800 families throughout the region, but the demand for the program is so great that the agency maintains a waiting list for those applying. There is typically a long wait from the time an application is submitted until a voucher can be awarded.

DETCOG has opened a special application window just for those families in its 12-county service area who are displaced from their homes by flooding that occurred under the declared disaster. Those who qualify will move to the top of the waiting list and be processed as soon as possible.

Hunt stressed this is only for families who live in one of the following 12 counties: Angelina, Houston, Newton, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity, Tyler, Hardin, and Jasper. The applicants must have been displaced by the recent flooding and must meet the program guidelines, including income guidelines established by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

Applicants are required to furnish evidence of principal residency within one of the designated counties, along with documentation supporting the unlivable condition of their dwelling due to flooding or severe weather damage. Household income documentation, Social Security Cards, and Birth Certificates for each household member are also mandatory for eligibility assessment.

Preference will be given to applicants who are involuntarily displaced and not residing in standard permanent housing. Documentation of residency can include lease agreements, deeds, and government photo IDs.

Applicants may contact the DETCOG Regional Housing Authority at (936) 238-7771 to initiate the application process. In the near future, DETCOG plans to schedule additional in-person application intake sessions in some of the hardest-hit counties. The special application period will remain open until May 31, 2024.